La Liga: Spain’s Top League

Soccer is one of the most popular games in Europe. And this popular game has many famous leagues around the world. One of the top leagues is the Spanish football league, La Liga.

La Liga is a league at the top of the pyramid of Spanish professional football. The league was founded ninety-four years ago, with ten teams competing for the title. Since then, the number of teams competing in the league has increased to twenty.

Logos | LaLiga

The league season starts around August. The league ends in May, with each team playing 38 matches, one at home and one away. The champions of last season, 2021-22, are Real Madrid. They have the record for the most championships won by any team in La Liga, with thirty-five titles. 

La Liga also has two of the most popular football players, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. The competitive nature of the league and the presence of legendary players make La Liga one of the most exciting and popular professional football leagues in the world.

History of La Liga

La Liga is a Spanish professional football league. A Spanish businessman Jose Maria Acha put forth the idea of a national league in 1928. After many hours of discussion and debate about the rules and participating teams, the first season of the league championship was played in 1929-30. 

The league was originally named “Liga Nacional de Futbol Profesional”. It loosely translates to National Professional Football League. 

Then after a year, in 1929, the governing body members thought that the name Liga Nacional de Futbol Profesional was too long. They wanted something simple and attention-grabbing. 

This is when they decided to use the name La Liga. It translates to ‘The League’ in the English language.

Since its inception in 1929, the popularity of La Liga has only grown. Despite being the national football league of Spain, it has fans all around the world. La Liga also has some of the world's biggest professional football clubs, namely Real Madrid and FC Barcelona. La Liga also has some of the world's best players participating. 

Most Famous Football Clubs In La Liga

Twenty football clubs are competing in La Liga. A few of these clubs are considered the best in the world. These clubs have a very long and rich history and have a huge cultural impact on Spain. These clubs have also produced some of the most famous players in the world. Following are the best five clubs in La Liga:

  • Real Madrid
  • FC Barcelona
  • Atletico Madrid
  • Sevilla 
  • Athletic Bilbao

La Liga winners list: Know all the champions

source -

Pichichi Award

The Pichichi Award is presented to the player with the most scored goals. Rafael Sanchez Guerra presented the idea for the award. The award is named after the legendary striker Rafael ‘Pichichi’ Moreno to honor him. 

Lionel Messi has won the award a record eight times. He also has the title of the most goals scored by anyone in their La Liga career. 

Where to Watch La Liga Matches?

It isn't easy to see every game played by any professional football team, as broadcast rights are sold to different broadcasters for different leagues and tournaments. But in today’s technology-driven world, watching games online is simple and easier. 

You can easily watch live games from anywhere in the world in HD quality and free of cost on Soccerlive. Click here to watch the latest matches of Spain's top professional football league, La Liga.  

La Liga 2023/2024 Standings
Regular Season
P W D L Goals Last 5 Pts
1  FC Barcelona 6 5 1 0 16 WWWWW 16
2  Girona 6 5 1 0 16 WWWWW 16
3  Real Madrid 5 5 0 0 10 WWWWW 15
4  Athletic Club 6 4 1 1 11 WWDWW 13
5  Valencia 6 3 1 2 9 DWLLW 10
6  Rayo Vallecano 5 3 0 2 6 WLLWW 9
7  Atlético Madrid 4 2 1 1 10 LWDW 7
8  Osasuna 6 2 1 3 7 DLLWL 7
9  Getafe 5 2 1 2 5 WLWLD 7
10  Cádiz 5 2 1 2 5 LWDLW 7
11  Real Betis 5 2 1 2 5 LWLDW 7
12  Real Sociedad 5 1 3 1 8 LWDDD 6
13  Villarreal 5 2 0 3 8 WLLWL 6
14  Deportivo Alavés 6 2 0 4 5 LLWLW 6
15  Mallorca 6 1 2 3 7 LWDLL 5
16  Sevilla 5 1 1 3 6 DWLLL 4
17  Celta de Vigo 6 1 1 4 6 LLWLD 4
18  Granada 5 1 0 4 9 LLWLL 3
19  Las Palmas 5 0 2 3 1 LLDLD 2
20  Almería 6 0 2 4 7 DLLDL 2

Related Posts